Snow and Stitching

Sarah Limah is coming along….slow but sure! This is the biggest sampler I’ve done yet!

SLimah3

and, its no news that we have snow:

snowplay

The kids are enjoying the backyard skating rink they were able to have this year.  Some years it is too warm (believe it or not!) to keep the rink ongoing….this year it has been no problem at all!  : )

skating2014

I am enjoying Frances Marshall (Scarlett Letter) on these cold snowy days! In between stitching Sarah Limah, Frances has a nice range of color and looks great on the linen sent with the kit:

FrancesM

Everyone is talking about how long the winter has been this year. But, it’s MARCH! St. Patrick’s day (and corned beef and cabbage and red potatoes and CARROTS! yum!) is just around the corner….and Spring right behind that!  These winter days can’t last forever….
hope you are finding some warmth, enjoying hot drinks and maybe a good book and something fun to work on…stitching, sewing, crafting….until Spring arrives.

snow
Happy Stitching,
Theresa

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow and Stitching

  1. Cheryl says:

    I recently started following the Scarlet Letter Year Blog and saw your comment about how to create beautiful satin stitches. I wanted to share with you what I do. Not sure if it will be the same technique as everyone else, but I use a laying tool called a tekobari when stitching anything and after completing satin stitches, I use a miniature iron found at craft shops. Now don’t get me wrong. You don’t want to press a big hot iron on your work but just give it a light sweep over the top. No steam, just a warm iron. You can put a clean cloth over the top of your work if your concerned but I use nothing but silk in my work and I always give them a little sweep with no trouble. The heat helps lay the stitches onto the linen and the results can be pretty incredible. Try it on a scrap piece of linen and see what you think and let me know.

  2. I am going to try your tip! THANK YOU so much!

Comments are closed.