Crowning Sarah Limah

As I stitch this row of eyelet crowns on my Sarah Limah scarlet letter sampler, I keep humming “Casting down their golden crowns around the glassy sea….”

I am loving this sampler! Sarah Limah, a young girl of thirteen when she stitched this sampler, loved color. Look at the variety of threads she used!

When I was a little girl my dad would load all of us up in the station wagon every Sunday and take us all to church….we would clamber upstairs to the balcony (less noticeable there!) and sing with the adult choir. (They were so tolerant back then! they let all us kids join in with the singing). There was a lovely petite dark-haired lady that had a gorgeous alto voice….

Stitching these crowns brings back those childhood memories! how grateful I am for my parents…so brave to have a passel of kids and to faithfully bring us each Sunday to church!

I hope you are all enjoying the lovely Fall weather we have had lately! These warm Fall days won’t last much longer.

Happy Stitching,
Theresa

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.